Planning Committee

Thursday 10 February 2022

PRESENT:

Councillor R Smith, in the Chair.
Councillor Wakeham, Vice Chair.
Councillors Mrs Bridgeman (substitute for Councillor Dr Mahony), Corvid,
Cresswell, Derrick, Partridge, Mrs Pengelly (substitute for Councillor Nicholson),
Shayer, Stevens, Stoneman and Tuffin.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Dr Mahony and Nicholson.

Also in attendance: Julie Parkin (Senior Lawyer), Stuart Wingfield (Head of Development Management), Jamie Sheldon (Senior Governance Advisor) and Helen Rickman (Democratic Advisor).

The meeting started at 4.00 pm and finished at 6.55 pm.

Note: At a future meeting, the committee will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

79. **Declarations of Interest**

The following declarations were made by members in accordance with the code of conduct.

Name	Minute	Reason	Interest
Councillor Derrick	84. 38 Looe Street, PL4 0EB – 21/00505/FUL 85. Land at Sugar Quay, Sutton Harbour – 20/02046/FUL	Berth Holder in Sutton Harbour	Personal
Councillor Smith	85. Land at Sugar Quay, Sutton Harbour – 20/02046/FUL	Board Member of Plymouth Waterfront Partnership	Personal
Councillor Wakeham	85. Land at Sugar Quay Sutton Harbour – 20/02046/FUL	Board Member of Plymouth Waterfront Partnership	Personal

80. **Minutes**

Agreed the minutes of the meeting held on 13 January 2022.

81. Chair's Urgent Business

There were no items of Chair's urgent business.

82. Questions from Members of the Public

There were no questions from members of the public.

83. Planning Applications for consideration

The Committee considered the following applications, development proposals by local authorities and statutory consultations submitted under the Town and Country Planning Act, 1990, and the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservations Areas) Act, 1990.

84. 38 Looe Street PL4 0EB - 21/00505/FUL

K Wszolek

Decision:

Application REFUSED on the basis of DEV 10.8 – unacceptable impact on neighbours, and DEV 10.5 - insufficient outdoor amenity space.

(The Committee heard from Councillor McDonald, Ward Councillor)
(The Committee heard from Mr Summerton, objector)
(The Committee heard from Ms Baker, agent)

85. Land at Sugar Quay, Sutton Harbour - 20/02046/FUL

Sutton Harbour Group

Decision:

Application DEFERRED and Minded to Grant to defer for further negotiation in relation to accessibility and disabled parking. This was proposed by Councillor Stevens and seconded by Councillor Corvid.

(The Committee heard from Councillor Mrs Aspinall, referrer of the application to Committee)

(The Committee heard from Mr Beinhaker, Agent)

86. Planning Enforcement

The Committee noted the Planning Enforcement Report.

87. Planning Application Decisions Issued

The Committee noted the report from the Service Director for Strategic Planning and Infrastructure on decisions issued since the last meeting.

88. Appeal Decisions

The Committee noted the schedule of appeal decisions made by the Planning Inspectorate.



PLANNING COMMITTEE - 10 February 2022

SCHEDULE OF VOTING

	ite number and lication	Voting for	Voting against	Abstained	Absent due to interest declared	Absent
6.1	38 Looe Street PL4 0EB - 21/00505/FUL Grant Conditionally Application REFUSED on the basis of DEV 10.8 – impact on neighbours, and DEV 10.5 - insufficient and lack of outdoor amenity space.		Councillors Mrs Bridgeman, Corvid, Cresswell, Derrick, Partridge, Mrs Pengelly, Shayer, R Smith, Stevens, Stoneman, Tuffin and Wakeham.			Councillor Morris
6.2	Land at Sugar Quay, Sutton Harbour - 20/02046/FUL Grant Conditionally subject to \$106 Councillor R Smith proposed the update to informative 6 to allow for consultation on \$278 works with the Designing Out Crime Officer and Commission on Violence against Women and Girls Seconded by Cllr Stoneman Councillor Stevens proposed a deferral for further negotiation on accessibility and disabled parking Seconded by Councillor Corvid Application DEFERRED. Members were Minded to Grant defer for further negotiation in relation to	Councillors Corvid, Cresswell, Derrick, Mrs Pengelly, Shayer, R Smith, Stevens, Stoneman, Tuffin and Wakeham.				Councillor Morris, Councillor Partridge Councillor Bridgeman

Minute number and Application	Voting for	Voting against	Abstained	Absent due to interest declared	Absent
accessibility and disabled parking.					